top of page
History of NAACP Branch 1034​


In 1976 a number of concerned citizens assembled at the home of Jim and Ethel McGowan (deceased) under the encouragement of Virginia Green Phillips to bring a NAACP branch to Lake Elsinore. Ameal Moore of the Riverside NAACP worked as a liaison helping  the fledgling group with the application and membership organization to create a vibrant and active force in the community. 


Virginia Phillips (deceased) was the original President. Sonja Williams (now Wilson) was the Secretary with Flora Frazier as the Membership Chair, Dan Tindell (deceased) as Treasurer and Jim McGowan as an advisor to the group on a number of important matters.

Lake Elsinore NAACP Branch 1034 received its charter in 1977 and became functional. The original group had a membership of more than fifty (which was the requirement) and continues to reach out to the public today in support of civil rights issues in a spirit of 'justice for all.' Two of the charter members are still alive and continue to support the organization.

In recent years, the Lake Elsinore branch has included the following Southwest Riverside County communities in their jurisdiction: Corona, Temecula, Murrieta, Canyon Lake, Perris, Norco, Wildomar, Sun City, Menifee and Lake Elsinore. We welcome anyone in these communities to join us in our unified effort to support democracy and social justice in Southwest Riverside County.

bottom of page